The Man Cooks

I wasn’t feeling well the whole day, so I quickly threw together some vegetables in pho sauce (gotta love the pre-made stuff in jars), reheated some rice and threw on some kimchi.

Bok choi, enoki mushrooms, and beansprouts cook so quickly they make a great end of the day meal.

Bok choi, enoki mushrooms, and beansprouts cook quickly so they make a great end of the day meal.

I love mushrooms of every kind, but Ben does not. So when he asked me about the enoki, I said “it’s a Japanese vegetable.” To his credit, he tried it, but alas it would have to be disguised or else I’ll eat them.

Whilst we are (or can be) adventurous in our tastes, there are days when the want for different comfort foods hit.

Ben was so excited for his Montreal Smoked Meat sandwich, but was disappointed in finding there the meat was missing. The next best thing? Summer sausage.

Ben was so excited for his Montreal Smoked Meat sandwich, but was disappointed upon finding his meat was missing. The next best thing? Summer sausage.

Top left, clockwise: pan fried lettuce in sesame oil (it was going south) with left over dumplings, tea, pork bone soup from H-Mart, Korean glass noodles cooked in soup broth. Side plate: pork bone, half a potato

Top left, clockwise: pan fried lettuce in sesame oil (it was going south) with left over dumplings, tea, pork bone soup from H-Mart, Korean glass noodles cooked in soup broth. Side plate: pork bone, half a potato

Before his semester started, we cooked up a few amazing meals together. Check out these delicious burgers. Actually, he did most of the cooking, and prepped the corn too. We were so stuffed…

IMG_2714Here’s another one we did together – actually, he took care of the corn, and I did the majority of the stir fry. I used olive oil to fry up the beef since it was what I had on hand, but I think it would have been better with canola or sesame, considering that I added soy sauce to it.

Broccoli, half of a bell pepper, zucchini, and ground beef

Broccoli, half of a bell pepper, zucchini, and ground beef

One day last (last last?) week Ben suggested that he cook dinner, since I wanted to make up a meal in advance for his upcoming evening class and my evening shift. He does eggs well! Eggs, cheese, one pepperette. We agreed that next time there was no need for so many eggs (6 eggs and we were bloated). But it was an experiment, and experiments are great for tweaking and learning. And as a tasty experiment, I couldn’t complain. Besides, I love having meals prepared for me. It’s a real treat.

Look at those stunning colours! The vibrant grapefruit against the blue bowl added to this visual feast Ben prepared.

Look at those stunning colours! The vibrant grapefruit against the blue bowl added to this visual feast Ben prepared.

More recently, I missed a text from him on my way home as I lost reception on the subway. He and a buddy were cooking and he wanted to know if I wanted any, and if he should throw in extra. Too bad I got the text after I got home. Their meal looked good.

Check out this protein rich dish - eggs, a small sprinkling of cheese, julienned summer sausage (woah! Beautiful), and a starch - potatoes. The only thing missing are greens, but who has room after all this?

Check out this protein rich dish – eggs, a small sprinkling of cheese, julienned summer sausage (woah! Beautiful), and a starch – potatoes. The only thing missing were greens, but who has room after all this?

Leave a Reply

