Catalyst

This is my first post. Pretty obvious, but it’s taken a while to get here, and so, at least for me, it’s a pretty big step. I’ve kept blogs before, a Xanga blog which was more of an online journal and muse that a typical middle school kid would keep, and then a WordPress blog in my undergrad, exploring the intersection of cultures coming together. The last one stopped because I simply ran out of things to say.

This blog is the result of a stroke of inspiration I had in the summer when my boyfriend Ben and I watched a movie about a food blogger (‘Julie and Julia’). In the movie, Julie finds a cookbook about French cooking written for American cooks, launching her into a year of cooking every recipe out of that cookbook. At the end of this (beautiful) movie, I said “I should do that,” and Ben said “Yes, you should, you can do that.”

The movie served as a catalyst for a couple of passions that have been growing for sometime. 1. is food itself, 2. is good food. The definition of ‘good’ changes on the day – sometimes it’s fresh produce, sometimes it’s a delicious, gooey dish of fries and cheese, sometimes they are food processes, and sometimes it’s a bowl of comfort food – a simple packet of ramen heating up over the stove with a packet of bad-for-you but oh-so-comforting seasoning nearby.

I’ve been taking pictures of food for a few years now. It started off in my undergrad as a record of what I had made, so I could go back and try it again, and as a way of reassuring Mom that I was surviving and eating okay. Two degrees and a full-time job later, these reasons haven’t changed. I’m still taking pictures for records, and I’m still taking pictures to share what I had made. But this time I want to expand that to more family, to keep our (Ben and mine) families connected in seeing what we’re up to, to friends, and to those who share a simple desire to eat better.

And so because it is two in the morning, I will stop here, and simply share a plate of cookies I baked last week.

The previous tenants who lived in the house I now live in left a little booze behind, so I nabbed it for baking. The Irish Bailey Cream has a lovely, sweet scent that comes through in these cookies. I adapted this recipe from a recipe for rum cookies and added 2 eggs, where they called for none. If I try these again, I'll go for 1 egg. They weren't bad, but they weren't amazing either. Some boys gobbled them up, which I was okay with :)

The previous tenants who lived in the house I now live in left a little booze behind, so I nabbed it for baking. The Irish Bailey Cream has a lovely, sweet scent that comes through in these cookies. I adapted this recipe from a recipe for rum cookies and added 2 eggs, where they called for none. If I try these again, I’ll go for 1 egg. They weren’t bad, but they weren’t amazing either. Some boys gobbled them up, which I was okay with 🙂

Leave a Reply

